The struggle within


The struggle within

‘…I WANT TO DO…GOOD…BUT I DO…BAD…’ ROMANS 7:18-19

The same wind that blew on your back on your way to hell, will blow in your face on your way to Heaven. After the initial euphoria of being saved and accepted into the family of Christ, you find yourself assailed by thoughts and forces you thought were no longer part of your life. This can throw you, because you are not yet grounded in God’s Word. You are discovering that your new birth did not do away with your old nature, it just brought it into sharp contrast. Listen to Paul: ‘What I don’t understand about myself is…I decide one way…then I act another, doing things I absolutely despise…I can’t be trusted to figure out what is best… and then do it…The moment I decide to do good, sin is there to trip me up’ (Romans 7:15-21 TM). Sound familiar? When Rebekah the wife of Isaac prayed, God answered and she conceived twin boys, Jacob and Esau. But they struggled with one another in her womb causing her distress. So she enquired of the Lord, ‘…why…am I this way?’ (Genesis 25:22 NAS). God answered, ‘Two nations are in your womb…one people shall be stronger than the other; And the older shall serve the younger’ (Genesis 25:23 NAS). There’s a lesson here for you: even though God has redeemed you and made you His child, you still have two natures within you wrestling for control. What is the answer? The oldest (your flesh) must submit to the youngest (your new nature). Who will win? The one you feed, protect, and develop most!

Leave a Reply

